Mage: The Awakening

In an age long gone, mortals dethroned the gods and seized the heavens for their own. And for it, they were flung down into the world of clay, their minds clouded by ignorance. Only a bare few remember their birthright – the power of magic. If they cannot claim the heavens, they will make their own kingdoms on Earth.

A Storytelling Game of Modern Sorcery

Unlike many of the other games in the new World of Darkness, Mages have a fairly clear idea of their history; they are the remnants of the civilization of Atlantis, whose ability to cast magic was lost when their cities disappeared. Each Mage realizes this legacy through a supernatural processes known as Awakening. Awakening usually happens within a dream, or in a state between dream and waking. It ends when the mage-to-be reaches the Supernal Realm, and writes their name on one of the Watchtowers, a process which determines in which form of magic they will be proficient.

The corebook, published in August 2005, presents what may be the most comprehensive free-form magic system ever achieved in gaming, allowing characters to cast nearly any spell imaginable. Supplemental releases for Mage can take up an entire bookshelf, and there are more new books on the way. A vibrant, evolving setting, Mage still inspires not only our fans, but the writers who continue to contribute new twists and backgrounds for exploring what it means to be Awakened.


World of Darkness RulebookMage: The Awakening Rulebook

Get more Mage products from DriveThruRPG



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *