Now Available: Storypath System Preview

Sales, Scion, Trinity Continuum

Storypath System PreviewNow available from DriveThruRPG: Onyx Path Publishing’s Storypath System Preview!

The evolution of the Storypath system is tied to our work on the Trinity Continuum, a world of hope, heroism, and peril, and Scion, a world where the children of the old gods walk the earth.

Early on, we found that both new editions of these games had similar system needs, because their characters are larger-than-life and fight in epic battles on a grand scale. We knew we needed a system that could accommodate everyday citizens on the street, superheroes soaring above skyscrapers, and gods of the sun and sky, but we also wanted rules to help facilitate the connection between the player-characters, their organizations (Allegiances for Trinity and Pantheons for Scion), and their values.

To move forward, however, we needed to take a step back, because the first editions of the Trinity Continuum and Scion used custom variants of the Storyteller System which powered Vampire: The Masquerade and other classic White Wolf games. Despite the differences between those variants, however, at its core the Storyteller System was designed chiefly as a horror game for creatures that could be effectively fought by human opponents. In other words, the Storyteller System is great for vampires, but it didn’t excel at portraying superheroes…or gods! To us, this meant that the stories of these action-adventure games were hindered by their original systems.

The Storypath System was designed as a new set of rules, inspired by the legacy of the Storyteller and Storytelling Systems, in addition to other story-centric rules. The Storypath System keeps the focus on narrative, story-built play, and action-adventure. It also draws inspiration from a number of other influences that focus on a cinematic high-octane action and storytelling, as well, to create a streamlined experience for epic stories.

Within these pages, you’ll find a preview of the rules and examples for both Scion and the Trinity Continuum. We hope you enjoy the new Storypath System and are inspired to roll the dice and tell great stories!

  18 comments for “Now Available: Storypath System Preview

  1. Tim Flannigan
    August 9, 2016 at 3:15 pm

    Is this and the Brochure replacing the Monday Meeting this week?

    • Ran
      August 9, 2016 at 3:39 pm

      Yeah, cause of the con

  2. Aberrant_Scion
    August 9, 2016 at 5:00 pm

    Aberrant was brilliant.
    Perfect for Xmen superheroes.

  3. Derek
    August 9, 2016 at 5:12 pm

    I really like this preview. It feels traditional White Wolf / Onyx Path, but also smoother and cleaner and more modern. A nice combination. Very much looking forward to the Trinity Core book and Adventure! when it comes!

  4. Crash
    August 9, 2016 at 5:25 pm

    I’m really digging the idea of momentum. That way even if things aren’t going perfectly the story is moving forward and the players don’t feel entirely disappointed.

  5. Paul
    August 9, 2016 at 6:07 pm

    I like what I’ve read so far, but I was just wondering if Scion will be four books in total, or four books for the setting/rules information, with additional books to follow.

    Also, when will the Scion Second Edition Kickstarter go live, as I really want to be part of that!

    • Ian A. A. Watson
      August 9, 2016 at 6:19 pm

      Scion is one of the few properties we actually own. So we’re going to keep publishing for it as long as we can.

      Scion’s Kickstarter should be later this month, possibly early next month.

      • August 9, 2016 at 11:41 pm

        Looking forward to it! 🙂 I liked the original Scion concept but found the mechanics were messy (especially when compared to the NWoD I was used to playing).

  6. Aberrant-in-Waitng
    August 10, 2016 at 1:39 pm

    Will the new Trinity games cannibalize the art from the previous edition? Or will it be all new art?

    • richt
      August 10, 2016 at 2:21 pm

      Mostly new. Still deciding whether some iconic art should stay, like the Aeon Society photo or the Legion Mural, but mostly we want to create a new aesthetic for this edition.

      • Aberrant-in-Waiting
        August 10, 2016 at 3:01 pm

        That’s great to hear. Are comic book artists too expensive to commission? If not, I’d like to recommend Francesco Francavilla for “Adventure”. Steve Epting for “Trinity”. Nick Dragotta for “Aberrant”.

        • richt
          August 10, 2016 at 4:23 pm

          I’ll look them up- thanks!

        • Fredrik Nilsson
          August 11, 2016 at 4:08 am

          I second Francesco Francavilla (or someone with a similar art style). I would even be prepared to pay extra for it.

          I also hope that Adventure gets better support this time. For me it was one of the best games from White Wolf.

          • Aberrant-in-Waiting
            August 11, 2016 at 5:44 pm

            ADVENTURE IS AN AWESOME GAME – especially when you combine it with real Doc Savage stories & Warren Ellis’ Planetary. The people in charge of DC COMICS have no vision; they could’ve published a comics series taking place in the Doc Brass pulp era after Planetary ended. Maybe they could’ve lured Grant Morrison to write it.

            It would also be great if ONYX PATH could convince GUY DAVIS to do some new ART for ADVENTURE!

  7. NateD
    August 10, 2016 at 11:11 pm

    THOSE FRONT AND BACK COVERS! I have *SO* many questions about the characters on the back!

    • marin
      August 11, 2016 at 2:33 am

      Neall revealed a bit about them over on the Onyx Path forums.

      The lady with four arms is Annie X, Scion of Kali (one of 1e’s Deva Scions; she’s on the cover of Scion Companion).

      The woman in green with the glasses is Eileen Bran, Scion of the Dagda in his mantle as the Red Man of All Knowledge.

      The lady with the whip is Omolara Muhammed, Scion of Oya Iyansan.

      The kid in the white cap and jacket is Colwyn “Little” Máo, Scion of Laozi.

  8. Tobi
    August 12, 2016 at 10:19 am

    Really liked the preview of the system, however I found a small error: On page 3 under “Difficulty”, the first two sentences are doubled. Maybe you want to correct this.

    Eagerly awaiting Trinity and Adventure! Keep up the good work.

Comments are closed.